HCI 2009 was hosted by Cambridge University and Microsoft Research Cambridge.

General chairs were Alan Blackwell (CU) and Ken Wood (MSRC)
Contact address: hci2009-chairs@cl.cam.ac.uk

Keynote speakers were Bill Buxton (Microsoft Research) and Tony Dunne (Royal College of Art).

Advisory Council

  • Jonathan Grudin (Microsoft Research)

  • Ben Shneiderman (University of Maryland)

  • John Carroll (Penn State University)

  • Paul Dourish (University of California, Irvine)

  • Andy Cockburn (Canterbury University, New Zealand)

  • David Gilmore (Logitech)

  • Wendy Mackay (INRIA)

  • Lucy Suchman (University of Lancaster)

Programme Committee - Technical Co-Chairs

Economic and social benefits

  • m c schraefel (University of Southampton)

  • Matt Jones (University of Wales, Swansea)

Interactive technology

  • Per Ola Kristensson (University of Cambridge)

  • Hans Gellersen (University of Lancaster)

  • Roderick Murray-Smith (University of Glasgow)

Theory for HCI

  • Barry Brown (University of California San Diego)

  • Nigel Shadbolt (University of Southampton)

  • Yvonne Rogers (Open University)

Tools and methods

  • William Newman (University College London)

  • Rachel Jones (Instrata Ltd)

User engagement

  • David Frohlich (University of Surrey)

  • Alex Taylor (Microsoft Research)

New contribution areas

  • Mark Blythe (University of York)

  • Sally Jane Norman (Newcastle University)

  • Gilbert Cockton (Sunderland University)

Programme Committee - Programme co-chairs

Doctoral Consortium
Contact address: hci2009-doctoral-consortium@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Kristina Höök (Swedish Institute of Computer Science)

  • Andrew Monk (University of York)

Panels and debate
Contact address: hci2009-panel-debate@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Alan Dix (University of Lancaster)

  • Ann Light (Sheffield Hallam University)

Contact address: hci2009-workshops@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Peter Wild (University of Cambridge)

  • Leon Watts (University of Bath)

Contact address: hci2009-tutorials@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Sally Fincher (University of Kent)

  • Allan MacLean (Amdeo Ltd)


  • Abigail Sellen (Microsoft Research)

  • Elizabeth Churchill (Yahoo)

  • Satinder Gill (University of Cambridge)

Open House Festival
Contact address: hci2009-open-house@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Steve Hodges (Microsoft Research)

  • Tim Regan (Microsoft Research)

  • Alex Butler (Microsoft Research)

Encounter sessions

  • Marian Petre (Open University)

  • Stephen Brewster (University of Glasgow)

Programme coordination

  • Richard Harper (Microsoft Research)

  • Peter Robinson (University of Cambridge)

Student volunteers
Contact address: hci2009-student-volunteers@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Siân Lindley (Microsoft Research)

  • Luke Church (University of Cambridge)

Reviewing management

  • Andy Dearden (Sheffield Hallam University)

  • Chris Roast (Sheffield Hallam University)

International excellence awards
Contact address: hci2009-international-excellence@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Rose Luckin (Institute of Education)

  • Ann Blandford (University College London)

BCS liaison
Contact address: hci2009-bcs-liaison@cl.cam.ac.uk

  • Russell Beale (University of Birmingham)

  • Dianne Murray (Interacting with Computers)

  • Tom McEwan (Napier University)

  • Janet Read (University of Central Lancashire)

  • Lachlan MacKinnon (Abertay)




  • Grey Twitter Icon